DTM Nürburgring: race 1 in detail | DTM
2015-09-26 12:45:00

DTM Nürburgring: race 1 in detail

  • Start for race 1
  • Maxime Martin leads from Bruno Spengler
  • The Safetycar

Maxime Martin scored his second DTM victory in the race at Nürburgring on Saturday. From second place on the grid, the Belgian crossed the finish line as the winner after 25 laps with a dominant margin of 2.543 seconds. In an action-packed race, Audi driver Edoardo Mortara finished second and also took over second place in the drivers’ standings. Here, Pascal Wehrlein remains on top after 15 races, having further extended his points’ lead by finishing third in the race. Prior to the second race on Sunday, the Mercedes-Benz driver is leading with 155 points from Mortara (128 points) and Mattias Ekström (127 points). From 17th place on the grid, the Swede worked up his way to finish tenth and was rewarded for his efforts with one point. After a collision on the opening lap, the race was interrupted with red flags for almost 15 minutes and then restarted behind the safety car.


13.25 Cars start on the formation lap.
Start Martin takes the lead into the first corner. Further up in the field, several drivers collide. Green has spun after contact with Blomqvist and collides with Molina, Juncadella also spins. Safety car.
Lap 1 Martin is leading from Spengler, Mortara, Wehrlein, Götz, Rockenfeller, Auer, Wittmann, Paffett, Wickens.
Lap 3 Red flag because there is too much oil in the Mercedes Arena. The race will resume at 13.45 hrs with a duration of 30 minutes.
13.45 The field sets off behind the safety car, 30 minutes on the clock.
Lap 4 Safety car comes in at the end of this lap.
Lap 5 Restart of the race. Farfus heads into the pits. Martin remains in front from Spengler and Mortara. Wittmann attacks Auer under braking for the first corner for seventh, but the Austrian defends his position.
Lap 7 Wehrlein and Götz battle for fourth.
Lap 8 DRS can be used.
Lap 9 Martin is pulling away from the rest of the field, his margin is 2.6 seconds. Blomqvist into the pits, he retires.
Lap 10 Félix da Costa overtakes Ekström at the Veedol chicane and is now tenth.
Lap 11 Scheider into the pits, he retires.
Lap 15 Mortara works his way past Spengler in the first corner and is now second. Wehrlein gets past Spengler as well.
Lap 16 Paffett overtakes Wittmann for seventh.
Lap 18 Auer overtakes Spengler for fifth. Spengler has a puncture at the right rear. The Canadian comes in at the end of the lap.
Lap 20 Di Resta gets past Glock and is now twelfth.
Lap 22 Wickens attacks Félix da Costa for eighth.
Lap 23 Coming out of the first corner, Wickens gets past Félix da Costa and is now eighth.
Lap 25 Final lap.
Finish Martin wins from Mortara, Wehrlein, Paffett, Götz, Auer, Wittmann, Wickens, Félix da Costa and Ekström.

DTM Reglement



Pure action and first class entertainment: moving pictures about the DTM.

View more