DTM Spielberg: Race 2 at a glance | DTM
2015-08-02 15:00:00

DTM Spielberg: Race 2 at a glance

  • Mattias Ekström wins the wet race on Sunday
  • Gary Paffett claimed second position behind Mattias Ekström

Mattias Ekström is the winner of the race at the Red Bull Ring in Austria on Sunday. The stalwart, who started from pole position, won the tenth DTM race of the DTM season in a dominant way and also claimed the lead in the drivers’ standings. For the Audi driver, it was the 21st DTM race win of his career. In a rainy race, Gary Paffett finished second. The Mercedes-Benz driver moved up into second place at an early stage already, was able to close up to Ekström on several occasions, but eventually had to make do with second place. Edoardo Mortara crossed the finish line in third. Local hero Lucas Auer scored his best result to date by finishing seventh. António Félix da Costa was the best-placed BMW driver in eleventh position. A manoeuvre on the final lap caused plenty of discussion: after being tapped by Timo Scheider, Pascal Wehrlein, who was leading the drivers’ standings until that point, and Robert Wickens spun into the gravel trap. Scheider was able to continue and finished sixth. Stewards of the meeting will deal with the collision after the race.

Race 2 at a glance

15.25 Safety car deployed.
Prior to the start: No pit stop window, but every driver has to make a stop.
Start The field gets underway behind the safety car.
Lap 5 Safety car will come in at the end of this lap.
Lap 6 The race is underway. Ekström pulls away from the rest of the field. Vietoris into the gravel trap, continues. Juncadella into the pits.
Lap 7 Molina goes wide in turn 2, but continues. Vietoris, Green, Wittmann, Farfus, Glock into the pits.
Lap 8 Ekström is leading, 3.6 seconds from Rockenfeller, then Paffett, Wehrlein, Mortara, Wickens, Scheider, Tambay, Di Resta and Müller. Götz, Blomqvist into the pits.
Lap 9 Wehrlein, Di Resta off the track, they both continue. Paffett attacks Rockenfeller for second and gets past. Tomczyk into the pits.
Lap 10 Wickens overtakes Mortara and is now fourth, Mortara counters and gets his position back. Paffett is 4.7 seconds down on race leader Ekström.
Lap 11 Scheider into the pits. Ekström's margin has decreased to 4.1 seconds.
Lap 12 Wehrlein off the track, he drops back from sixth to ninth.
Lap 13 Juncadella's pit stop can not be considered as a mandatory pit stop according to the regulations (after a safety car intervention a stop at the end of the first lap after the restart doesn't count). Wehrlein overtakes Auer and is now eighth.
Lap 14 Rain is increasing. Tambay into the pits.
Lap 15 Tomczyk overtakes Green and is now 18th.
Lap 17 Mortara is closing up to third-placed Rockenfeller. Rockenfeller, Müller, Auer into the pits. Juncadealla and Green off the track. Blomqvist also off the track.
Lap 18 Paffett, Wickens, Wehrlein, Juncadella into the pits.
Lap 19 Ekström, Blomqvist, Mortara, Di Resta, Spengler, Martin into the pits.
Lap 20 Tambay off the track. Martin into the gravel trap. Molina into the pits.
Lap 21 Mortara runs wide and loses third place to Félix da Costa.
Lap 22 Félix da Costa comes into the pits, he is the last driver to make his mandatory stop. Juncadella comes into the pits for another stop.
Lap 23 After the stops, Ekström is leading from Paffett, Mortara, Rockenfeller, Müller, Wickens, Scheider, Wehrlein, Götz and Vietoris. Farfus into the gravel trap, he continues.
Lap 25 Ekström and Paffett are 3.3 seconds apart.
Lap 27 Di Resta overtakes Félix da Costa and is now twelfth.
Lap 28 Race control instructs Di Resta and Félix da Costa to swap positions again - Di Resta had exceeded the track limits in the overtaking move. Juncadella spins. His car comes to a halt.
Lap 29 Blomqvist into the pits - retires.
Lap 30 Auer overtakes Götz and is now ninth.
Lap 31 Wickens runs wide, Scheider gets past and is now sixth.
Lap 32 Wickens claims back his sixth place from Scheider.
Lap 33 Time has run out. Next lap will be the final one.
Lap 34 Final lap. Wickens, Scheider and Wehrlein battle for sixth. Wehrlein overtakes both Scheider and Wickens. Then Scheider taps Wickens, who runs into Wehrlein's car. Wickens and Wehrlein spin into the gravel trap.
Finish Ekström wins from Paffett, Mortara, Müller, Scheider, Auer, Götz, Vietoris, Di Resta.

2019 Tickets

2019 Tickets

Order tickets for the DTM season 2019 in advance.





Pure action and first class entertainment: moving pictures about the DTM.

View more