Unbeatable in the rain: Ekström wins second race of the season | DTM
2015-05-03 13:00:00

Unbeatable in the rain: Ekström wins second race of the season

  • Unbeatable in the rain: Ekström wins second race of the season
  • Race winner on Sunday: Audi driver Mattias Ekström

Mattias Ekström (Audi) has won the race on Sunday during the DTM season opener at Hockenheim. Having started from second place on the grid, the Swede managed to take the lead on lap four and only had to give up this position briefly during the pit stop. After claiming back first place, he used his skills to pull clear from his rivals and scored a commanding victory after 35 laps. His fellow Audi driver Edoardo Mortara finished second, 7.3 seconds down. Gary Paffett (Mercedes-Benz) showed fantastic progress. From the penultimate starting grid position, the Brit made his way through the field in challenging weather conditions to finish third with a place on the podium as a reward. Classified fourth in the second race of the season on a rain-soaked track, BMW driver Martin Tomczyk only just missed out on a podium finish.

The race at a glance

Before Auer doesn't start due to an accident on his lap into the starting grid.
Start Ekström leads the field into the first corner from Rockenfeller, Wittmann and Mortara.
Lap 1 Wittmann overtakes Rockenfellert for second on the outside coming out of the second corner and then takes the lead out of the hairpin. Rockenfeller drops back to fourth behind Wittmann, Ekström and Mortara.
Lap 2 Wickens overtakes Félix da Costa and is now sixth.
Lap 3 DRS has now been enabled. Ekström is closing up on race leader Wittmann.
Lap 4 Félix da Costa overtakes Wittmann again. Ekström overtakes Wittmann in front of the aMercedes grand stand and takes the lead.
Lap 5 Ekström manages to pull a slight gap.
Lap 6 Molina overtakes Wickens in the hairpin and is now seventh.
Lap 7 Race control: there were no jump starts. Ekström is leading from Wittmann, Mortara, Rockenfeller, Tomczyk, Félix da Costa, Molina, Wickens, Spengler, Müller.
Lap 8 Rockenfeller and Tomczyk battle for fourth, Tomczyk gets past.
Lap 9 Mortara overtakes Wittmann and is now second. First drops of rain reported.
Lap 10 Spectators are putting their umbrellas up.
Lap 11 Wittmann misses his braking point for the second corner, Tomczyk gets past. Tambay into the pits.
Lap 12 Mortara, Wittmann Paffett, Farfus, Götz into the pits.
Lap 13 Ekström, Tomczyk, Rockenfeller, Spengler, Wickens, Martin, Müller, Green, Glock, Di Resta, Wehrlein, Blomqvist, Juncadella, Vietoris into the pits. Tambay makes a second stop - he retires.
Lap 14 Mortara takes the lead. DRS disabled because of the rain, drivers must turn the lights of their cars on. Molina, Scheider, Félix da Costa into the pits.
Lap 15 After the stops, Mortara is leading from Ekström, Molina, Wittmann, Félix da Costa, Scheider, Tomczyk, Rockenfeller, Spengler, Wickens. Maxime Martin gets a drive-through penalty for an unsafe release after his pit stop.
Lap 16 Martin comes in for his penalty.
Lap 17 Ekström attacks Mortara for the lead.
Lap 18 Ekström overtakes Mortara before the hairpin and takes the lead. Paffett overtakes Wickens and is seventh.
Lap 19 Farfus runs wide at the hairpin and loses two places to Green and Flock. The Brazilian is now eleventh. Molina overtakes Farfus in the Sachskehre.
Lap 20 Glock attacks Green for ninth and gets past. Müller and Di Resta tangle, Di Resta spins.
Lap 21 Paffett and Spengler tangle in the battle for sixth, Paffett gets past.
Lap 22 Wickens attacks Spengler for seventh. The incident between Müller and Di Resta is under investigation. Müller gets a drive-through for the collision and comes in at the end of the lap.
Lap 23 Müller gets a drive-through for the collision with Di Resta. Tomczyk overtakes Wittmann for third. Farfus into the pits.
Lap 24 Paffett attacks Wittmann and gets past.
Lap 25 Ekström is leading from Mortara, Tomczyk, Paffett, Wittmann, Rockenfeller, Spengler, Wickens, Glock and Wehrlein. Spengler is under massive pressure from Wickens.
Lap 26 Spengler and Wickens swap positions several times in a hot battle for seventh, but eventually, Spengler stays in front.
Lap 27 Paffett is right behind Tomczyk, who is third.
Lap 28 Paffett takes third from Tomczyk in the hairpin.
Lap 29 Wittmann under pressure from Rockenfeller in the battle for fifth.
Lap 30 Vietoris overtakes Green and is twelfth. Wickens overtakes Spengler for seventh.
Lap 32 Wehrlein overtakes Spengler in the hairpin for eighth.
Lap 33 Wittmann and Rockenfeller battle for fifth.
Lap 34 Vietoris collides with Scheider, the Audi driver spins.
Lap 35 Final lap. Ekström takes his 20th career DTM race win from Mortara, Paffett, Tomczyk, Wittmann, Rockenfeller, Wickens, Wehrlein, Spengler, Glock. The incident between Vietoris and Scheider is under investigation. After the finish: No further action concerning the incident between Vietoris and Scheider.

DTM Reglement

Be there

A visit to the DTM is a must

You've never been to the DTM? We show you why a visit to the DTM is a must.


Experience the DTM


Pure action and first class entertainment: moving pictures about the DTM.

View more